Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Fowler Schools USD 225



Ajax Loading Image


July 19, 2021, Board of Education Meeting Minutes

USD #225 Board of Education Meeting

July 19, 2021, 7:00 P.M.  



Call to order:  T.J. Milford, Board President, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.  Pledge of Allegiance was recited and McDowell led a prayer.

Members present: Jared Weber, Kim Copenhaver, Tom Huelskamp, Cathy Heinz, and T.J. Milford were present. Others present were Cherie Nicholson, Superintendent, Corri McDowell, Principal, and Erica Littlewood, Board Clerk.

Ed Rarden and Fred Boyd were not present.

Recognition of Visitors/Communication: Debbie Wise, Cord Moss, Emily Dizmang, Luke Ackerman, Jessica Ackerman, and Charlie Littlewood

Approve Consent Agenda: Boyd moved, seconded by Huelskamp to approve the Consent Agenda.  Motion carried 5-0.



A. Economic Development: TJ Milford – No report given  

B. Special Ed Co-op: Kimberly Copenhaver – Report given  

C. Admin updates

            1. McDowell

                        a. Teachers have begun moving classrooms from one building to another.

                        b. ITV classes – ELA with Bucklin and Science with Ingalls.

                        c. HS class schedules are beginning to be created for students.

            2. Nicholson

                        a. All teachers are certified.

                        b. Vision insurance provider will be changed in October 2021.

                        c. 897 open teaching positions in the state of Kansas at this time; core subjects are

                            most effected.

                        d. Update on Elm house trees/landscaping needs.

                        e. Kindergarten readiness requirements; updated this year.

                        f. Revenue Neutral Tax Rate update

                        g. July 28 is the scheduled date to have KSDE review the completed district budget.

                        h. The district office will be closed on July 29 and 30, 2021.

                        i. Fire alarm probe has been repaired; alarm no longer going off without cause.



Boiler Pump Bid – Milford moved, seconded by Huelskamp to approve the bid provided by P1 Group, option 1, pending the clarification on the estimated project time and the agreement that all premium time (overtime) will be approved by the district. Motion carried 5-0.

Sports and activity cooperative with Meade – Discussion only; overview of agreement provided by Meade USD 226. Agreement was signed.

Transportation – Discussion only; no motion made.  


Milford moved, seconded by Huelskamp to go into executive session for 20 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel under KOMA, board and superintendent. This session is required to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed. Motion carried 5-0. 8:05 p.m.

Milford moved, seconded by Huelskamp to go back into executive session for 15 minutes. Motion carried 5-0. 8:25 p.m.

Milford moved, seconded by Copenhaver to go back into executive session for 5 minutes. Motion carried 5-0. 8:43 p.m.


Fall Supplementals – Copenhaver moved, seconded by Heinz to approve the following (fall) supplementals and stipends:

High School Football Head Coach – Boyd Peterson

Assistant Football Coach – Cord Moss

High School Track – Jennifer Faurot

High School Cheer – Jennifer Faurot

Powerlifting – Cord Moss

Activities Director – Jennifer Faurot

High School Scholars’ Bowl – Quenton Rucker

National Honor Society – Corri McDowell

FFA – Cord Moss

Junior Class Sponsor – Cord Moss

Senior Class Sponsor – Erica Littlewood

Multiple Grade Stipend: Kimberly McLachlan, Brittany Huckaby, and Donna Norman.

Elementary Testing Coordinator/ESOL – Debbie Wise


Adjournment – Milford moved, seconded by Huelskamp to adjourn meeting. Motion carried 5-0 8:52 p.m.


For The Board of Education

_____________________________________, Board Clerk


_____________________________________, Board President