Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Fowler Schools USD 225



Ajax Loading Image


July 14, 2022, Board of Education Meeting Minutes

USD #225 Board of Education Meeting

July 14, 2022, 8:30 A.M.  




Call to order:  T.J. Milford, Board President, called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.  Pledge of Allegiance was recited and Milford led a prayer. 

Members present: TJ Milford, Cathy Heinz, Fred Boyd, Dana Bartezko & Kim Copenhaver were present. Others present were Jamie Wetig, Superintendent, Erica Littlewood, Board Clerk, and Corri McDowell, Principal. 

Jeff Zortman was not present.

Recognition of Visitors/Communication: None

Adoption of Agenda – Milford moved, seconded by Copenhaver to adopt the agenda as presented. Motion carried. 5-0


Jeff Zortman joined the meeting via phone at 8:35 a.m.


  1. Hearing of Visitors – None




Approval for the 2022-2023 school year as presented.

  1. Designate Clerk (Erica Littlewood)
  2. Designate Deputy Clerk
  3. Designate Treasurer (Vicki McDowell)     
  4. Approve accounts payable as presented
  5. Adopt Integrity Bank as the official depository for school district funds- K.S.A. 9-1401
  6. Designate the Meade County News as the official newspaper- K.S.A.64-101et.seq
  7. Adopt 1,116-hour school year and adopt the school calendar- K.S.A. 72-1106
  8.  Designate truancy officers for school year:   Corri McDowell for Grade School-  K.S.A. 72-1113
  9. Approve 2022-2023 Food Service Agreement
  10. Appoint Jamie Wetig as food service hearing official
  11. Appoint Erica Littlewood as food service authorized representative; food service authorized signers and claim contacts
  12. Appoint Erica Littlewood as determining official for free and reduced meal applications
  13. Appoint Erica Littlewood as district KPERS representative
  14. Appoint KASB Legal Assistants as school attorney
  15. Establish mileage rate same as State established rate for reimbursement (Currently: $0.56) K.S.A. 75-3203
  16. Adopt early payment request policy (Permission to pay bills that have a penalty or deductions for early payment KSA 12-      105(e)
  17.  Establish petty cash limits:  high school:  $500.00, district office/grade school:  $500.00. K.S.A. 72-8208
  18. Designate Erica Littlewood & Jamie Wetig as Jr/Sr High Activity Fund  K.S.A. 72-8208a
  19. Designate Erica Littlewood & Jamie Wetig as Grade School Activity Fund K.S.A. 72-8208a
  20. Appoint Jamie Wetig as compliance coordinator for Title VI, Title VII, Title IX
  21. Appoint Jamie Wetig as Section 504 (ADA) Coordinator
  22. Approve annual public notification of non-discrimination
  23. Approve annual notice to provide a free appropriate public education
  24. Approve Annual notice of Section 504 (ADA) procedural safeguards
  25. Resolution to adopt the annual waiver of requirements for generally accepted accounting principles.  K.S.A. 75-1120a
  26. Resolution to establish meeting dates, time and location. K.S.A. 72-8205
  27. Approve High School Activity Fund resolution requesting exemption from K.S.A. 12-105(b) (Uniform procedure for payment of claims, presentment of claims, payments in advance of approval)
  28. Approve Grade School Activity Fund resolution requesting exemption from K.S.A. 12-105(b)
  29. Approve Erica Littlewood as the Freedom of Information Officer
  30. Resolution to establish Home Rule by Board of Education
  31. Resolution authorizing destruction of old records K.S.A. 72-5369
  32. Approve Section 125 Flexible Benefit Plan document
  33. Approve contract with Meade County Health Department for school health services
  34. Authorize the clerk to make end of year budget expenditures and transfers.
  35. Approve participation in the following:
    1. Title 1 (Improving Basic Programs), Title II-A (Preparing, Training, Recruiting High Quality Teachers/Principals), At-Risk, Bi-lingual and, 4-year old at risk
  36. Appoint SKACD representative 
  37. Economic Development representative
  38. Nomination for Board President and Vice President

SKACD Representative - Fred Boyd and T.J. Milford (alternative)

Economic Development – T.J. Milford

BOE President: Heinz moved, seconded by Boyd to approve T.J. Milford as BOE president for the 2022-2023 school year. Motion carried 6-0.

BOE Vice-President: Heinz moved, seconded by Milford to approve Kim Copenhaver as BOE vice-president for the 2022-2023 school year. Motion carried 6-0.
Organizational Items: Bartezko moved, seconded by Copenhaver to approve the organizational items as presented. Motion carried 6-0.



  1. Approval of Minutes (June 9,2022, June 27, 2022, and July 8, 2022)
  2. Approval of Financial Reports & Payments
  3. Gifts & Grants

Consent Agenda: Copenhaver moved, seconded by Heinz to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried 6-0.






  1. REPORTS  
  1. Mrs. McDowell, FES Principal
  1. Newsletters have been sent out.
  2. Enrollment
  3. Mr. Wetig, Superintendent
    1. District Budget Process Timeframe
  1. July 20 - RNR Notification
  2. August 10 - RNR/2023 Budget Publication
  3. Aug. 20 - Sept 20 - Hearing (RNR/Budget)
  4. October 1 - Submit 2023 Budget 
  1. Revenue Neutral Rate
  2. Historical Enrollment
  3. KASB Annual Convention 22-23 - November 11th-13th (Wichita)
  4. Community B2S Celebration
  5. Board Goal Setting - Meeting Date established for Monday, July 18, 2022, at 6:00 p.m.
  1. Mr. Milford, President
    1. Economic Development – Report given
  2. Kimberly Copenhaver, Member
    • Special Education Cooperative – Report given

Revenue Neutral Rate – Milford moved, seconded by Zortman to approve the resolution to notify the intention to exceed the Revenue Neutral Rate and our proposed mill levy rate is 55. Motion carried 6-0.


Recess – 5-minute recess. 9:50 a.m. Regular session resumed at 9:56 a.m.




2022-2023 Negotiated Agreement – Copenhaver moved, seconded by Milford to approve negotiations as presented with the adjustment to the salary schedule of $40,000 base with 3 steps. Motion carried 6-0.


Rental Property Policy – Milford moved, seconded by Copenhaver to draft a district rental property policy. Motion carried 6-0.



Copenhaver moved, seconded by Milford to go into Executive Session for 20 minutes, board and Wetig, to discuss matters relating to employer-employee negotiations whether or not in consultation with the representative or representatives of the body or agency. Motion carried 6-0. 10:02 a.m.

Milford moved, seconded by Boyd to go into Executive Session for 15 minutes, board and Wetig, to discuss personnel matters of non-elected personnel in order to protect the privacy interest of the individual(s) to be discussed, pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under Kansas Open Meetings Act. Motion carried 6-0. 10:24 a.m.

Copenhaver moved, seconded by Batezko to go back into executive session for 10 minutes. Motion carried 6-0. 10:40 a.m.



Copenhaver moved, seconded by Boyd to adjourn the meeting at 10:52 a.m. Motion carried 6-0.








For The Board of Education

_____________________________________, Board Clerk


_____________________________________, Board President